Monday, March 17, 2014

And the winners were -

Veronica Henry triumphed over her fellow competing authors to win the Romantic Novelists' Association's highest accolade, the Romantic Novel of the Year with A Night on the Orient Express, published by Orion. Darcey Bussell, CBE presented Veronica with her trophies and a cheque for £5000.

 Veronica’s novel won the Contemporary Romantic Novel of the Year Category, for which she also received a specially engraved star-shaped trophy. Her book then went forward, along with those of the four other category winners - Epic, Historical, Romantic Comedy and Young Adult - to contest the Romantic Novelists' Association’s (RNA) most coveted award, the Romantic Novel of the Year.

The RoNA Rose Award
  This Award is for shorter category/series fiction and while it does not go forward to contest the main award, the authors are recognised through the presentation of a trophy and, this year, a cheque for £1000.These were presented by Darcey Bussell to Kate Hardy for her book Bound By A Baby, published by Harlequin Mills & Boon.

 Romantic Novel of the Year Category Winners
. The winners were:
 Winner Epic Category Romantic Novel of the Year
  Jennifer McVeigh, The Fever Tree, Penguin
  (for mainstream romantic novels set post 1960 and can include genres such as chic lit,  paranormal and romantic suspense)

  Winner Historical Category Romantic Novel of the Year
  Christina Courtenay, The Gilded Fan, Choc Lit
  (for novels set in a period before 1960)

  Winner Romantic Comedy Category Romantic Novel of the Year
  Milly Johnson, It's Raining Men, Simon & Schuster
 (for consistently humorous or amusing novels)

  Winner Young Adult Category Romantic Novel of the Year
 Imogen Howson, Linked, Quercus
  (features protagonists who are teenagers or young adults)

Katie Fforde, President of the RNA said, "Every year we are astounded by the quality of writing and enthusiasm from our entrants. Their passion is evident in their writing and all can be proud of having been part of the Awards this year. Our congratulations go to Veronica Henry, who is thoroughly deserving of her win and provided the judges with an intriguing plot with some twisty turns that delivered what can only be described as a page-turning novel. All in all a very well-earned win."

 Outstanding Achievement Awards
 Helen Fielding, author of the popular Bridget Jones novels, who defined the romantic angst of a generation, and Dr. David Hessayon were both presented with outstanding achievement awards.

 Dr. David Hessayon is a long-time friend of the RNA, having sponsored for many years the association's annual award recognising the best in new writing. The Joan Hessayon Award is named in memory of his late wife, an ardent and longstanding member of the RNA and great supporter of New Writers' Scheme (NWS).


Congratulations to all the winners -   and to everyone who was nominated. 

No comments:


Home Bio Books USA Readers Writers Contests Events Blog Links

Join Kate's Newsletter

Email Kate

Modified and Maintained by HR Web Concepts